An exciting day at the Kent Grand Prix Final!

On Sunday July 1st, 76 brave juniors came along to do battle at the GP final in Sevenoaks. It was a very exciting day as there were overall GP prizes at stake as well as section results.

Once the dust had settled after the day of chess and GP scores were tallied, we were able to unveil our Overall Kent GP 2011-2012 Champions. They were as follow:

U9 Kent GP Champion 2011-2012 : Kiran Shiatis (123.4 points)

Detailed results on

U11 Kent GP Champion 2011 – 2012: Jackson Wen (130.6 points)

Detailed results on

U14 Kent GP Champion 2011 – 2012: Patrick Smith (152.9 points)

Detailed results on

U18 Kent GP Champion 2011 – 2012: Duncan Bell (176.1 points)

Detailed results on

All the sections were hard fought and final results for the day's tournaments being as follows:

U9: 1st Tobias Albrecht, 2nd Mikey Watson, 3rd equal Sachin Wadhwani and Ryan Malik

U11: 1st Harry Houllion and Alex Sheerin, 3rd equal Ronit Nair and Nii-Akwei Carty Bing-Pappoe

U14: 1st Owen Messere, 2nd equal Jackson Wen, Jessica Wen and Lucy Ayliffe

U18: 1st Duncan Bell, 2nd equal Rohan Bansal and Patrick Smith.

Congratulations to all the children who played such super chess. A big thank you to all our wonderful volunteers in particular Martha Gilbert for catering, Sue Maguire for all her work throughout the year, Michael Gilbert for running it all, our arbiters for the day Andrew Shiatis, Luca Bernardini, Anil Anilkumar and Rajadurai Haridas and to Sevenoaks School for the wonderful facilities on the day.